Poking the Bitcoin Bear

In my continued dive into the “bitcoin rabbit-hole” I’ve found myself researching the origins and history of the early internet. Along the way I found myself viewing a 45-minute long History Channel program “The Invention of the Internet”. A particular story from Bob Metcalfe stands out.

In the clip below Metcalfe recalls a patronizing encounter with AT&T executives when he first shared a demo of the early ARPANET. (a foundational network preceding the internet)

I wonder how many young (and old) bitcoin and blockchain enthusiasts have experienced the exact same episode in the past 5 years?

It is worth noting that Metcalfe went on to co-invent Ethernet and be attributed with a principle coined as Metcalfe’s Law. I wonder what this generation of angry kids will come up with?

Leave a Reply

